About PBIC

Since its inception in 1999, the Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center's mission has been to improve the quality of life in communities through the increase of safe walking and bicycling as a viable means of transportation and physical activity.As a national leader in pedestrian and bicycle research and resources, the PBIC develops and shares resources vital to advancing mobility, access, equity, and safety for pedestrians and bicyclists. To support this mission, the PBIC:

The Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center is supported by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and housed within the UNC Highway Safety Research Center in Chapel Hill, NC.

Directors


Core Team


Kristin Blank
Communications Manager
blank@hsrc.unc.edu

Kristen Brookshire
Research Associate
brookshire@hsrc.unc.edu

Dan Gelinne
Program Manager
gelinne@hsrc.unc.edu

Stephen Heiny
Research Associate
heiny@hsrc.unc.edu

Seth LaJeunesse
Research Associate
lajeunesse@hsrc.unc.edu

Lauren Marchetti
Senior Technical Advisor
marchetti@hsrc.unc.edu

Krista Nordback
Senior Researcher
nordback@hsrc.unc.edu

Sarah O'Brien
Senior Researcher
swobrien@hsrc.unc.edu

Libby Thomas
Senior Researcher
libbyt@email.unc.edu

Alyson West
Research Associate
west@hsrc.unc.edu

Charlie Zegeer
Senior Technical Advisor
zegeer@hsrc.unc.edu

 

Partners

Our core team is complemented by partners at Governors Highway Safety Association, Institute of Transportation Engineers, PeopleForBikes, Toole Design Group, and Virginia Tech Transportation Institute.

 

Additional Collaborators

PBIC regularly engages with a range of organizations to help advance shared missions. Examples of current and past collaborators include:

America Walks

American Planning Association

American Public Health Association

Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Environmental Health

Environmental Protection Agency

League of American Bicyclists

National Association of City Transportation Officials

National Center for State Legislators

Project for Public Spaces / National Center for Bicycling and Walking

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Safe Kids

US Access Board

Vision Zero Network

World Bank

 

Press Releases

HSRC Awarded Five-Year $3.1M Coperative Agreement for PBIC
(October 3, 2016) UNC Highway Safety Research Center wins multi-year PBIC cooperative agreement through competitive proposal process for fourth time.